Profil et Historique

1912

William-M-Bell-1912L’Histoire de Bell Flavors & Fragrances débute avec la cie William M. Bell fondée en l912 à Chicago, Illinois. Les arômes créés par M. Bell étaient extrêmement novateurs en ce début de l’industrie des arômes. Bien que sa formation de chimiste aromaticien en confiserie lui ait donné une excellente connaissance des arômes, c’est surtout sa créativité naturelle qui lui permet de saisir les goûts de ses clients. Au cours de ces premières années, William M. Bell vend ses créations dans les comptoirs locaux de crème glacée, dans les épiceries et dans les comptoirs de boissons douces.

 
Haut de page

1930

Grand_AveLes arômes de la cie William M. Bell sont tellement sollicités qu’il se voit obligé d’agrandir l’entreprise. Son premier site de fabrication ouvre sur West Grand Avenue à Chicago, Illinois. L’emplacement s’avère idéal car Chicago devient rapidement la « Capitale mondiale de la confiserie. » Aujourd’hui, il n’y a plus de « Capitale mondiale de la confiserie, » même si la ville de Chicago est toujours très bien classée sur le marché de la confiserie, ainsi que sur d’autres marchés de denrées alimentaires et de boissons.

campfire_marshmallowsWilliam M. Bell élabore avec succès des arômes sucrés pour ses clients confiseurs et laitiers. De nombreux produits sont formulés avec du lactosérum, ingrédient hautement nutritif mais difficilement compatible avec le goût. William M. Bell relève le défi, en s’appuyant sur sa remarquable capacité à analyser et créer des arômes. Son génie créatif fait en sorte que les arômes Bell sont incorporés dans les premiers caramels et guimauves produits aux États-Unis. Aujourd’hui, les arômes Bell sont encore largement utilisés dans ce type de produits.
Haut de page
1955

Le début des années 1950 marque le décès de William M. Bell et de son épouse. Sans enfants pour hériter de l’entreprise, Wm. M. Bell Company est vendue à Theonett & Company, une entreprise d’arômes située au 3215 West Grand Avenue, à Chicago, Illinois. À cette époque, Theonett & Co. est la propriété d’Arthur Netter et Frank Robinson dont les activités aromatiques étaient principalement consacrées à l’industrie des boissons. Theonett & Co. relocalise alors William. M. Bell Company pour l’intégrer à son exploitation sur Grand Avenue tout en maintenant les deux entreprises séparées.
Haut de page
1968

ed_heinz_1968_presCette année-là, Edward N. Heinz décide de mettre à profit ses 25 ans de savoir-faire et d’expérience au service de l’industrie des arômes; il rachète donc William M. Bell Company. M Heinz et ses fils apportent un nouvel élan d’enthousiasme à l’entreprise. Bell continue de croître grâce à leur créativité, leur ardeur au travail et à la fidélisation des clients.
Haut de page
1974

Melrose_parkL’entreprise prend de l’ampleur et Bell a besoin d’espace de fabrication supplémentaire. En 1974, Bell réaménage ses opérations à Melrose Park, Illinois, dans la banlieue de Chicago.
Haut de page
1976

heinz_and_sonsEd Heinz et ses trois fils savent qu’en plus d’une croissance organique de l’entreprise, il faudra des acquisitions afin d’atteindre le marché national, voire international. Ainsi, en 1976, Bell fait sa première acquisition : Maumee Flavors & Fragrances, située à Danbury, Connecticut.

Maumee élabore une ligne d’arômes et de fragrances normalisées, ainsi que les principaux ingrédients du groupe anthranilate (anthranilate de méthyle ; anthranilate diméthylique ; anthranilate éthylique) – ingrédients clés dans la création des arômes baie et raisin. Bell fait la consolidation des opérations de Maumee vers l’usine de Melrose Park, Illinois, mais conserve des bureaux de vente et des laboratoires sur la côte Est.
Haut de page
1979

bell-logo-w-tagWm. Bell Company change de nom et devient Bell Flavors & Fragrances suite à son acquisition de Roubechez, Inc., société de fragrances de Chicago, Illinois. Cette entreprise se spécialise dans l’élaboration et la vente de fragrances aux industries des bougies, du savon, des détergents et produits domestiques. Bell relocalise Roubechez, Inc. dans son usine de Melrose Park avec un espace supplémentaire de 30 000 pi. ca. (env. 2 787 m²) loué dans un bâtiment séparé, adjacent au bâtiment existant.
Haut de page
1981

new_bldg

Bell achète la division arômes de Stepan Chemical Company et relocalise le siège de cette société dans une nouvelle usine, au 500 Academy Drive, à Northbrook, Illinois, qui demeure le siège social de Bell jusqu’à ce jour.

L’acquisition de Stepan comprend aussi Fries & Bro., entreprise fondée en 1845. À l’époque, Fries & Bro. est le principal producteur d’arômes à tabac dans l’industrie des arômes.

 

 

Stepan_Frag

fries_brosjpg
Haut de page
1983

Bell acquiert la division arômes et fragrances de Nestlé connue sous le nom de Synfleur. Cette acquisition comprend deux usines de fabrication pour Bell à White Lake et Monticello, dans l’État de New York, et d’un centre de R et D à Paramus, New Jersey.

L’acquisition de Synfleur renforce considérablement l’activité fragrances de Bell, car cette division était le fournisseur de la fragrance des poudres pour bébé Johnson & Johnson depuis 100 ans. Synfleur fournit aussi à Nestlé un grand nombre de ses arômes de boissons, confiserie, mets salés et produits laitiers.

Informations complémentaires sur Synfleur.

« En 1889, Benjamin Harrison est le président des États-Unis. Les Dakota du Nord et du Sud deviennent les 39e et 40e États de l’Union ; et à Paris, la Tour Eiffel est inaugurée. La même année, Alois Von Isakovics, chimiste pragois de 29 ans, ouvre un laboratoire de parfums et arômes au nord de la ville de New York. Il est convaincu, à l’instar de la plupart des parfumeurs et aromaticiens de son temps, que seuls les ingrédients importés offrent une qualité optimale.

Il nomme son entreprise Herbene Pharmacal et vise à produire des arômes chimiques de la meilleure qualité. Il découvre que par la synthèse et le mélange de différentes substances chimiques, il est possible d’obtenir une qualité égale ou supérieure à celle des huiles importées. C’est ainsi qu’il assied sa réputation d’innovateur offrant de la qualité. Ses affaires prospèrent.

En 1904, il souhaite de plus grands locaux de fabrication et recherche un environnement plus propre hors de la ville ; il relocalise donc son entreprise à Monticello, New York, à environ 90 miles (env. 145 km) au nord-ouest de ses locaux new-yorkais. Dans le même temps, il donne un nouveau nom à sa société qui devient Synfleur Scientific Laboratories, afin de mieux exprimer la nature de son activité. C’est donc là, à l’air pur des montagnes Catskill, que son entreprise prospère.

Alois Von Isakovics meurt en 1917, à l’âge de 47 ans. De santé précaire depuis des années, il a eu la clairvoyance d’intégrer son épouse, Mary Upshur Von Isakovics, à ses affaires bien avant sa mort. Elle dirige l’entreprise avec l’assistance d’un directeur général, Luis De Hoyos. De Hoyos épouse ensuite Marie, la fille des Von Isakovics, et entre ainsi dans la famille.

Luis dirige l’entreprise pendant de nombreuses années, y amenant son fils, Luis Jr., qui devient à son tour président de Synfleur. L’entreprise continue de prospérer à Monticello, et lorsque Luis Jr. approche de l’âge de la retraite, elle est cédée à The Nestle Co. de White Plains, NY, en 1975. Devenue une division de Nestlé, Synfleur continue à croître et prospérer ; elle augmente les affaires de la société à l’international dans des proportions importantes.

Aux État-Unis, Bell Flavors se fait un nom dans l’industrie alimentaire. Elle est le précurseur de nombreuses avancées en matière d’arômes pour un grand nombre de produits phare au fil des décennies.

Bell cherche à élargir sa gamme de produits et constate que le parcours de Synfleur est parallèle au sien ; l’élément le plus significatif étant l’approche similaire envers la qualité des produits et le service à la clientèle.

En 1983, Bell Flavors & Fragrances voit l’occasion de racheter l’entreprise pour développer son exploitation. C’est le retour de l’esprit d’entreprise familiale ; Bell fusionne les opérations arômes et fragrances au sein de son entreprise existante et accroît sa clientèle dans le monde entier. »

Haut de page
1987

ed_heinz_lobbyEdward N. Heinz décède, mais ces fils continuent de diriger l’entreprise aujourd’hui. Ils assurent la continuité et la passion de leur père pour l’entreprise, ce qui entraîne une importante expansion économique de la société.

 

 

 
Haut de page
1993

germany_fac
Germany_Facility_v01
schimmel_library

Bell privatise les opérations de Schimmel & Company à Leipzig, en Allemagne. Cette société fondée en 1829 est considérée comme étant la mère des entreprises d’arômes et de fragrances dans le monde. Elle possède le plus grand site et les usines de production les plus modernes d’Europe. Avec plus de 40 professionnels en R. et D., dont 20 titulaires d’un doctorat, la tradition Bell d’innovation et de recherche continue de créer des produits primés dans le monde entier.

Le site abrite aussi la Bibliothèque Schimmel, la plus ancienne bibliothèque au monde consacrée à la chimie. La Bibliothèque Schimmel dispose des plus anciennes collections d’ouvrages sur les travaux et les études les plus avant-gardistes de l’industrie.

 

 

Historique de Bell en Allemagne

Historique de Bell en Allemagne depuis 1829.

Les origines de la société connue sous le nom Bell Flavors & Fragrances Europe se trouvent Leipzig, en Allemagne, et remontent au début du XIXe siècle. Schimmel & Co., société fondée en 1829, devient rapidement la principale entreprise d’arômes et de fragrances dans le monde, et le restera pendant environ 100 ans.

Les réalisations scientifiques de Schimmel forment le socle de la technologie encore utilisée de nos jours dans l’industrie. Des ouvrages tels que « L’encyclopédie des huiles essentielles », publiée par le Dr Gildemeister et Dr Hoffmann en 1899, ou « La théorie de l’extraction et de la séparation des huiles essentielles par distillation, » publiée par le Dr Carl V. Rechenberg en 1908, sont des références dans la fabrication de ces produits. Le Professeur Otto Wallach reçoit le Prix Nobel de chimie en 1910, pour ses services insignes dans le domaine de la chimie du terpène.

Le 1er juillet 1948, les installations Schimmel de Leipzig, Allemagne, sont expropriées et la société devient une entreprise publique ; la vente de ses produits est limitée aux pays associés à l’ex-Union soviétique.

En 1993, après la réunification de l’Allemagne, Bell rachète Schimmel au gouvernement allemand ; c’est désormais une entreprise privée qui commercialise ses produits dans le monde entier. Le site actuel de 100 000m² a été complètement modernisé, il est équipé de nouveaux laboratoires de recherche et développement destinés aux applications professionnelles et au développement de produits.

À ce site s’ajoutent ceux du Canada, de la Chine, du Mexique et des États-Unis. Le but de Bell est d’être votre avantage concurrentiel.

Haut de page
1994

middletown_facBell achète PFW-Hercules, une usine de production de 100 000 pieds carrés (env. 9 290 m²). Cette usine moderne, située à Middletown, New York, est le site de fabrication des fragrances et extraits botaniques de Bell, desservant la clientèle en Amérique du Nord.
Haut de page
1995

canada-1995Bell poursuit son expansion internationale en achetant Naturome, une société d’arômes située à Brossard, dans la banlieue de Montréal, au Canada. Naturome se spécialise en recherche et développement d’arômes pour boissons et produits laitiers (yogourts).

L’investissement de Bell dans la croissance de cette société en a fait l’un des principaux fabricants d’arômes au Canada approvisionnant exclusivement le marché canadien. Cette division est connue sous le nom de Bell Flavors & Fragrances (Canada), et au Québec, Essences & Fragrances (Canada).

Hong_KongBell ouvre une usine d’arômes et de fragrances à Hong Kong. Cet emplacement a pour objectif d’approvisionner la Chine et les pays d’Asie-Pacifique en arômes et fragrances.
Haut de page
1999

h-r-logoEn 1999 et 2000, Bell fait l’acquisition d’une partie du chiffre d’affaires des arômes et fragrances de Haarmann & Reimer, un important concurrent desservant les PME aux États-Unis et au Canada. Cette acquisition, ainsi que les formules associées aux produits vendus augmente le nombre de clients de Bell aux États-Unis et au Canada.
Haut de page
2001

mexico-facility-cropBell achète Empresa Industrial Izadora de Guadalajara S.A. de C.V. (EIGSA), une entreprise d’arômes et fragrances en affaires depuis 50 ans à Guadalajara, au Mexique.

CIB-smCette entreprise fabrique des arômes pour les industries des boissons alcoolisées et non alcoolisées, de la confiserie, des produits laitiers et des mets salés. Elle fabrique également des ingrédients pour l’industrie des produits laitiers et crèmes glacées, tels que Eigsamix, un additif pour le lait,et Chococob, une garniture au chocolat pour les cornets de crème glacée. L’entreprise fabrique aussi des fragrances pour l’industrie des soins personnels. Cette société est connue sous le nom de Bell Flavors & Fragrances, México.
Haut de page
2003

beverageBell achète Penrith Akers, une entreprise d’arômes au Minnesota spécialisée dans les arômes pour boissons ; celle-ci est le fournisseur régional d’entreprises situées dans quatre États avoisinants. Cette société a été consolidée au site de Bell à Northbrook, Illinois.
Haut de page
2005

tobacco_coverBell ouvre une usine de fabrication à Shanghai, en Chine. Ce site dispose de deux usines séparées, l’une pour les arômes et l’autre pour les fragrances, ainsi que des bureaux administratifs et de R. et D. Bell est l’une des premières sociétés d’arômes et de fragrances à avoir pu se constituer en société sans devoir former une coentreprise à 50 % avec une société chinoise. Bell Chine est à 100 % la propriété de Bell Flavors & Fragrances, Inc. aux États-Unis. L’Usine de Shanghai est responsable des ventessur l’ensemble du marché chinois. Ce marché émergent offre un potentiel de croissance immense pour Bell avec une croissance anticipée de 10 % par an du marché chinois. Cette division est connue sous le nom de Bell Flavors & Fragrances, China.

Puisque la Chine est le pays ayant la plus grande consommation de tabac, Bell a voulu d’abord se concentrer sur l’aromatisation du tabac. Bell est la seule société étrangère en Chine à posséder une licence de tabac, ce qui signifie que Bell est la seule entreprise à pouvoir traiter directement avec le monopole chinois. Toutes les autres sociétés doivent d’abord passer par un intermédiaire qui doit obtenir une licence livrée par Pékin.

office-bogota-016

 

China_Facility_v01

Haut de page
2007

Bell dépose et enregistre sa marque de commerce Belltanicals®. Cette marque de commerce a pour but de promouvoir et soutenir la recherche et le développement que Bell mène depuis longtemps sur les nombreuses applications des substances botaniques.

belltanicalsLa développement de ces substances botaniques couvre cinq champs d’activités :

  • Extraits botaniques
  • Infusions botaniques
  • Mélanges d’huiles essentielles naturelles
  • Extraits biologiques certifiés
  • Mélanges d’huiles essentielles naturelles certifiés NOP (National Organic Program)

Haut de page
2009

2009-buildingBell établie à São Paulo, au Brésil, la société Bell Flavors & Fragrances do Brasil Ind. Com.E Repress, Ltda, afin de fabriquer pour ses clients ayant des usines à travers le monde des arômesfabriqués localement. Cette démarche permet d’éviter les lourdes taxes douanières perçues sur l’importation d’arômes au Brésil.
Haut de page
2011

En raison de la croissance exponentielle au niveau national et international, la Direction de Bell à Northbrook, Illinois, fait l’acquisition d’un entrepôt de 85,000 pi. ca. (env. 7 896 m²) contigu au siège social existant. L’emplacement de l’entrepôt est idéal du point de vue logistique pour l’expansion et la planification à long terme.

sqf_logoBell se voit décerner la certification SQF (qualité et sécurité des aliments) 2000, Niveau 3, pour son site de fabrication de Northbrook, Illinois. Il s’agit du principal programme mondial de certification de la sécurité et de la qualité des aliments ; c’est un système de gestion destiné à répondre aux besoins des acheteurs et fournisseurs dans le monde entier. La prestigieuse certification de Niveau 3 s’appuie sur une procédure rigoureuse de vérification par une firme indépendante, à laquelle s’ajoute un examen complet des politiques, procédures et systèmes en place. La certification SQF de Niveau 3 garantit aux clients que les produits qu’ils achètent sont de source fiable, ayant une sécurité et une qualité certifiées.

Bell Northbrook détient toujours la certification SQF 2000 Niveau 3, et Bell au Canada a obtenu la même certification en 2012.
Haut de page
2012

100th-anniversaryBell fête ses 100 ans d’histoire en organisant une célébration du centenaire en l’honneur de la société.
Haut de page
2013

Bell Flavors & Fragrances assure l’accroissement de sa plus récente filiale internationale par l’acquisition de la division arômes d’Iceberg Industries à São Paulo, au Brésil. Iceberg-Aromas est implanté sur le marché brésilien depuis 1939 avec des clients dans tous les secteurs agro-alimentaire, en particulier ceux de la confiserie, de la gomme à mâcher, de la crème glacée, des boissons, des biscuits et des mets salés.

Le nouveau site est doté de laboratoires d’innovation à la pointe de la technologie ; il sera un centre de création de nouveaux produits et de collaboration avec les clients pour le marché sud-américain. Ce nouveau site de Bell fabrique des arômes, fragrances et extraits botaniques pour le marché sud-américain.

Haut de page
Aujourd’hui

Bell créé des arômes et des fragrances pour l’alimentation, les boissons, les produits cosmétiques, ménagers, pour soins personnels, pour soins dentaires, et pour les compagnies de tabac dans le monde entier. Malgré le chemin parcouru depuis 1912, Bell s’appuie toujours sur les valeurs qui étaient chères à William M. Bell et à Edward N. Heinz, valeurs qui sont aujourd’hui perpétuées par les familles Heinz et Bell.

northbrook_today

100th-book
Haut de page

Profile & History

1912

William M Bell 1912Bell Flavors & Fragrances began as the William M. Bell Company founded in Chicago, Illinois. Mr. Bell’s flavors were extremely innovative during these early years in the flavor industry. His previous education as a flavor chemist in confections gave him a great understanding of flavors, but it was his creative nature that captured his customers’ tastes. In the early years, William M. Bell sold his creative flavors to local ice cream parlors, grocery stores, and soda pop shops.

Top of Page

1930

Grand_AveThe William M. Bell Company’s flavors became so demanding he had to expand. His first manufacturing facility was on West Grand Avenue in Chicago, Illinois. The location proved to be ideal, as Chicago quickly became the “Candy Capital of the World.” Today there is no “Candy Capital of the World,” but Chicago still ranks high in productivity in the confectionery market, as well as other food and beverage markets.

campfire_marshmallowsWilliam M. Bell was successful in developing sweet flavors for his confectionery and dairy customers. Many new products were being formulated with a dairy product called whey, a highly nutritious ingredient, but difficult to balance correctly with taste. William M. Bell was successful in this challenge, using his remarkable ability to analyze and create flavors. His creative ability allowed Bell’s flavors to be incorporated into the first caramels and marshmallows produced in the US. Today, Bell’s flavors are still widely used in these product areas.

Top of Page

1955

In the early 1950s, William M. Bell and his wife passed away. With no children to inherit the business, the Wm. M. Bell Company was sold to Theonett & Company, a flavor company located at 3215 West Grand Avenue in Chicago, Illinois. Theonett & Co. was owned by Arthur Netter and Frank Robinson, whose flavor business was mainly devoted to the beverage industry. Theonett & Co. moved the William. M. Bell Company to be part of their operations on Grand Avenue, but kept the businesses separate.

Top of Page

1968

ed_heinz_1968_presEdward N. Heinz decided to take his 25 years of knowledge and experience in the flavor industry and purchased the William M. Bell Company. Mr. Heinz and his sons brought a renewed enthusiasm to the company. Bell continued to grow through their creativity, hard work and building customer loyalty.

Top of Page

1974

Melrose_parkAs the business grew, Bell needed additional manufacturing space. So, in 1974, Bell moved its operation to Melrose Park, Illinois, a suburb of Chicago.

Top of Page

1976

heinz_and_sonsEd Heinz and his three sons knew that it was not only necessary to grow organically, but also to take on acquisitions to achieve a national and even international reach. In 1976, Bell made its first acquisition, Maumee Flavors & Fragrances, located in Danbury, Connecticut.

Maumee developed a line of standard flavors and fragrances and also manufactured primary ingredients in the Anthranilate group (Methyl Anthranilate; Dimethyl Anthranilate; Ethyl Anthranilate) – key ingredients in creating berry and grape flavors. Bell moved the manufacturing of Maumee to its Melrose Park, Illinois plant, but kept some sales offices and labs on the East Coast.

Top of Page

1979

bell-logo-w-tagThe Wm. Bell Company changed its name to Bell Flavors & Fragrances after Bell acquired a fragrance company in Chicago, Illinois, called Roubechez, Inc. This company specialized in developing and selling fragrances to the candle, soap, detergent and household care industries. Bell moved Roubechez, Inc. into their Melrose Park plant with the additional rental of 30,000 square feet of space in a separate building adjacent to its existing building.

Top of Page

1981

new_bldg

Bell purchased the flavor division of the Stepan Chemical Company and moved its headquarters into a new manufacturing plant located at 500 Academy Drive, Northbrook, Illinois. This location is Bell’s Corporate Headquarters today.

Bell’s acquisition of Stepan also included Fries & Bro. Founded in 1845, Fries & Bro. was the premier tobacco flavor company within the flavor industry.

Stepan_Frag fries_brosjpg

Top of Page

1983
Synfleur_pamplet

Bell acquired Nestlé’s flavor and fragrance division known as Synfleur. This acquisition acquired two additional manufacturing plants for
Bell in White Lake, New York, and Montecello, New York, and an R&D Center in Paramus, New Jersey.

The Synfleur acquisition greatly strengthened Bell’s fragrance business, as they had supplied Johnson & Johnson their baby powder fragrance for over 100 years. Synfleur also supplied Nestle with many of their flavors for beverages, confections, savory and dairy products.

JandJ_powder Synfleur_price_list JandJ_emer_order

More information on Synfleur

“In 1889, Benjamin Harrison was the president of the United States, North and South Dakota became the 39th and 40th states of the union, and the Eiffel Tower opened in Paris. That same year, Alois Von Isakovics, a 29 year old chemist from Prague, opened up a perfume and flavor laboratory in the northern part of New York City. He was convinced, as were most perfumers and flavorists at the time, that the best quality of ingredients could only be found in imported materials.

He called his company Herbene Pharmacal and set out to produce top quality aroma chemicals. He found that he could synthesize and blend many different chemicals to produce a quality that were equal to or exceeded that of the imported oils. He began to develop a reputation for innovation and quality and his business grew.

In 1904, needing more room for manufacturing and looking for a cleaner environment beyond an urban setting, he moved his company to Monticello, New York, about 90 miles northwest of his New York City location. At the same time, he changed the name of his company to Synfleur Scientific Laboratories, to more readily identify the nature of his business. It was there, in the clean air of the Catskill Mountains, that the business flourished.

In 1917, at the age of 47, Alois Von Isakovics died. He had been in frail health for years and had the foresight to bring into the business his wife, Mary Upshur Von Isakovics, years before that. She ran the business with the assistance of a general manager, Luis De Hoyos. De Hoyos married the Von Isakovics’ daughter, Marie, and hence became part of the family.

Luis ran the company for many years, bringing into it his son, Luis Jr., who eventually took over as president of Synfleur. It continued to thrive in Monticello, and as Luis Jr. approached retirement age, the company was sold to The Nestle Co. of White Plains, NY in 1975. As a division of Nestle, Synfleur continued to grow and prosper, increasing the foreign business of the company to substantial proportions.

On the domestic scene, Bell Flavors was making quite a name for itself in the food industry. It pioneered innovative flavor breakthroughs for many of the most successful new products introduced over the decades.

Looking to expand its product base in the fragrance industry, Bell could not help but notice the close parallels between Synfleur and its own past history. The most significance was the similar attitude toward product quality and customer service.

In 1983, Bell Flavors and Fragrances saw an opportunity to acquire the business and expand its operation. Bringing back the family-oriented nature of the business, Bell merged the flavor and fragrance operation into its existing business and expanded its customer base world-wide.”

Top of Page

1987

ed_heinz_lobbyMr. Edward N. Heinz passed away, but his sons continue the business today. The sons continue on their father’s passion for the business and with that came even greater expansion and growth.

Top of Page

1993

germany_fac
Germany_Facility_v01
schimmel_library

Bell privatized the operations of Schimmel & Company in Leipzig, Germany. This company, originally founded in 1829, is considered to be the founding flavor and fragrance company in the world. This facility is one of the largest, most modern production plants in Europe. With over 40 R&D professionals, 20 of whom hold Doctorates, Bell’s tradition of innovation and research continues to create award winning products throughout the world.

This facility is also home to the Schimmel Library, the oldest chemical library in the world. The Schimmel Library has collections of some of the earliest and most pioneering work to ever be developed and studied in this industry.


History Bell Germany

History of Bell in Germany since 1829.
The origins of the company now known as Bell Flavors & Fragrances Europe were in Leipzig, Germany in the early 19th century. Founded in 1829 as Schimmel & Co. the firm soon became the leading flavor and fragrance company in the world, a position which it occupied for over 100 years.

The scientific accomplishments developed at Schimmel formed the basis for the technology still used in the industry today. Works such as “The Encyclopedia of Essential Oils”, published by Doctors Gildemeister and Hoffmann in 1899 and “The Theory of the Extraction and Separation of Essential Oils by Way of Distillation”, published by Dr. Carl V. Rechenberg in 1908, became the standards for the production and use of these products. Outstanding achievement in the field of terpene chemistry was recognized when Professor Dr. Otto Wallach received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1910.

On July 1st, 1948 the Schimmel facilities in Leipzig, Germany were expropriated, and it became a state owned firm, with the sales of its products restricted to countries associated with the former Soviet Union.

In 1993 Bell acquired Schimmel from the German government after reunification and, as a privatized company, began again to supply its products to the world. Today the facilities, occupying an area of 100.000m2, have been completely modernized with new research and development laboratories constructed for professional applications and product development.

Combined with other locations in Canada, China, Mexico and the United States, our goal at Bell is to be your competitive advantage.

Top of Page

1994

middletown_facBell purchased a 100,000 square foot manufacturing plant from PFW-Hercules. This modern plant, located in Middletown, New York, serves as Bell’s manufacturing for fragrances and botanicals, servicing our North American customers.

Top of Page

1995

canada-1995Bell continued its international expansion by acquiring Naturome, a flavor company located in Brossard, Canada, a suburb of Montreal. Naturome specializes in R&D research in flavors for beverages and dairy products (yogurts).

Bell has invested and grown this company to be one of the largest flavor manufacturing companies in Canada that strictly supplies the Canadian market. This division is now called Bell Flavors & Fragrances, Canada.

Hong_KongBell started a flavor and fragrance business in Hong Kong. This business was to supply flavors and fragrances to China as well as the Asia Pacific countries.

1999

h-r-logoIn 1999 and 2000, Bell acquired the medium and small flavor and fragrance business of a large competitor, Haarmann & Reimer in the United States and Canada. This acquisition of medium and small customers and the associated formulas supplied to these customers broadened Bell’s customer base in the United States and Canada.

Top of Page

2001

mexico-facility-cropBell acquired a 50 year old flavor and fragrance manufacturer located in Guadalajara, Mexico called Empresa Industrial Izadora de Guadalajara S.A. de C.V. (EIGSA).

CIB-smThis company manufactured flavors for the alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverage industry, confectionary industry, dairy industry, and now the savory industry. They also manufacture ingredients for the dairy and ice cream industry. One ingredient is Eigsamix, an extender for milk. Another ingredient is Chococob, a chocolate topping for ice cream cones. They also manufacture fragrances for the personal care industry. This company is now called Bell Flavors & Fragrances, Mexico.

Top of Page

2003

beverageBell acquired a flavor company located in Minnesota, called Penrith Akers. This flavor company specialized in beverage flavors and was a regional supplier to beverage companies for four surrounding states. This company was consolidated into Bell’s Northbrook, Illinois location.

Top of Page

2005

tobacco_coverBell opened a manufacturing facility in Shanghai, China. This facility has two separate plants, a flavor plant and a fragrance plant, along with R&D and administration offices. Bell was one of the first flavor and fragrance companies to be able to incorporate and not have a 50% joint venture with a Chinese company. Bell China is 100% a wholly-owned subsidiary of Bell U.S. Bell determined that the Shanghai operation and plants would handle business for the Chinese market. This emerging market has shown tremendous opportunity and growth for Bell as Bell expects to achieve a yearly 10% growth rate in the Chinese market. This operation is now called Bell Flavors & Fragrances, China.

Considering China is the largest tobacco consuming market, Bell began focusing its business on tobacco flavoring. Bell is the only foreign company in China that has a tobacco license, which means Bell is the only foreign company that can deal directly with the monopoly. All other companies have to go through a broker that has to go through a license that is given to them by Beijing.office-bogota-016China_Facility_v01

Top of Page

2007

Bell registered and trademarked Belltanicals®. This trademark was developed to promote and support Bell’s long time research and development of botanical extracts for various applications.Belltanicals 03_logo

The development of these Botanicals focuses on five areas:

• Botanical Extracts
• Botanical Infusions
• All-Natural Essential Oil Blends
• Certified Organic Extracts
• NOP Certified Organic Essential Oil Blends

Top of Page

2009

2009-buildingBell incorporates Bell Flavors & Fragrances do Brasil Ind. Com.E Repress, Ltda in Sao Paulo, Brasil and begins manufacturing flavors for some of Bell’s global customers who required flavors to be manufactured locally to alleviate the high duty rate of bringing flavors into Brasil.

Top of Page

2011

Due to exponential growth in domestic and international business, Bell’s Northbrook, Illinois, headquarters acquired an 85,000 sq. ft. warehouse building that is contiguous to the existing corporate headquarters. This warehouse building location is logistically ideal for long-term expansion and planning.

sqf_logoBell attained the Certification of SQF (Safe Quality Food) 2000 Level 3 for its manufacturing facility in Northbrook, Illinois. The SQF certification program is a leading global food safety and quality certification program and management system designed to meet the needs of buyers and suppliers worldwide. This prestigious Level 3 certification requires a rigorous third party audit process in addition to an extensive review of policies, procedures, and systems. SQF Level 3 Certification provides customers with the guarantee that their products are manufactured by a consistently safe and high quality source.

Bell Northbrook has maintained SQF 2000 Level 3 certification since then and Bell Canada attained the same certification in 2012.

Top of Page

2012

100th-anniversaryBell celebrated its 100 year history with a centennial celebration honoring the company.

Top of Page

2013

Bell Flavors & Fragrances secured its newest international subsidiary with the acquisition of Iceberg Industries flavor division in Sao Paulo Brazil. Iceberg-Aromas has resided in the Brazilian market since 1939 with customers in all segments, particularly in sweets, confectionery, chewing gum, ice cream, drinks, biscuits and savory products.

The new facility contains state of the art innovation labs that will serve as a hub of new product creation and customer collaboration for the South American market. Bell’s new facility manufactures flavors, fragrances and botanical extracts to the South American market.

Top of Page

Present

Bell develops creative flavors and fragrances for the food, beverage, cosmetic, household care, personal care, oral care, and tobacco companies throughout the world. Bell’s position in the industry has come a long way since 1912, but the same values William M. Bell and Edward N. Heinz held are still carried on by the Heinz and Bell Family today.100th-booknorthbrook_today

Top of Page